Mini Movie Review: Perks of Being a Wallflower

I was very excited to see this movie ever since I heard it was happening. I read the novel by Stephen Chbosky just a few years ago and I absolutely loved it. It reminded me of a modern Catcher in the Rye, a story about a boy who doesn’t fit in the world or in his own skin. Overall I thought the movie was an excellent adaptation of the book, which it should be since the author wrote the screenplay and directed the film. It did a great job putting the viewer into the protagonist’s mind as he uncovers memories from his childhood, which is something I was somewhat worried would get lost in translation. I wish the film had focused more on Charlie’s relationship with his teacher, and how the books his teacher gave him helped to shape his identity. I know things always have to be cut from books, and the film did not suffer from this so I can’t complain too much. The book, of course, is better, but the film is great too and stands on its own.

One thought on “Mini Movie Review: Perks of Being a Wallflower

  1. I haven’t read the book, but I thought this film was wonderful. The characterisation, the performances and the soundtrack were all brilliant. The way the story unfolded made the ending believable and also something of a surprise – the characters really grew as the story developed. Loved it.

comments go here

