Birchbox: October 2012

The October 2012 Birchbox could have been either a Goop sponsored box, or a Transformations themed box. Everyone else seemed to have gotten an e-mail asking which box they preferred, but I never did and I ended up with the Transformations box. Fine by me. I did not get as many items as I often do, but the items I got seem more luxurious than many of my other boxes. Which is funny, because the full size items are less expensive. Here’s what I got:

1. BENTA BERRY G-1 Moisturizing Face Cream (Full Size, $22 for 30 ml)
This little box had two identical samples in it, which was a fun surprise! I’ve used this a couple of times and it goes on a little sticky but doesn’t feel that way for long. I would be more likely to buy it if I wasn’t so happy with my Clinique moisturizing gel.

2. theBalm® cosmetics Mary-Lou Manizer (Full Size, $24 for 8.5 g)
Cute packaging and it goes on nicely, but I don’t feel like it stays on very well. Maybe I’m doing it wrong? Also I wish it came with a tool to apply it.

3. Mox Botanicals Lip Butter (Full Size, $16 for .2 ml)
Good taste and very moisturizing for my lips! I wouldn’t pay $16 for it though…

4. Harvey Prince Hello (Full Size, $55 for 50 ml)
I was annoyed to see yet another fragrance, since I’m really not much of a perfume person. But I think this is a nice scent, not overpowering but also seems to fade as the day goes on.

5. LUNA Protein Chocolate Peanut Butter (Full Size, $14.95 for 12)
This was my lifestyle extra, and I haven’t eaten it yet. Seems like a full size bar though so that’s nice. And at least I didn’t get the lemon flavor, gross.

Honestly, if you did the break-down of how much money each sample size was worth, this would be one of my worst valued boxes. However, this is also probably the first box where I am excited about and will actually use each sample. I also like this range of sample because if I actually do really like an item, it is not outrageous for me to consider purchasing it in the future.

Birchbox’s value overall is excellent. I get a surprise in my mailbox every month, I get to try new brands and products, and I get to earn points just buy reviewing, shopping, and referring. With those points I can buy full-size items of my favorite samples! Ready to get on board? Here’s my referral link!

comments go here

