Halloween Costume Ideas

I got pretty excited about making a Halloween costume this year, but then October really crept up on me! Luckily, I had some ideas for some easier-to-put-together costumes. Here are some of the ideas I’d had, for your last-minute or future-Halloween inspiration:

1. Cheerleader: This is the costume I wanted to make. I was way awkward in high school and definitely not a cheerleader, so I thought this would be a fun way to see myself in a different light. I think we all tend to get a little stuck in our high school self-perceptions sometimes, don’t you?

2. Flapper: I already have an awesome dress that I got from Express several years ago. I’ve used it for Halloween and for a decade-themed dance party, and it’s been lent out to others who needed it for a theme. It’s a good go to for me and it’s so fun to dance in! Here’s an inspiration photo plus me in costume in 2008.

3. Liz Lemon: I noticed that my new glasses are similar to Tina Fey’s character on 30 Rock. Really her costume is just a plaid shirt and jeans with glasses and a cardigan. I have all those things! But when I tried them on I looked like a lesbian. Not that there’s anything wrong with lesbians but it seems like an insensitive Halloween costume.

4. Ballerina: I thought this would be easy while also helping me feel skinny and pretty. Black leotard, pink tights, ballet shoes, and some sort of tulle skirt. I don’t have a picture for this because every picture of ballerinas on the Internet are either too fancy or too tacky for what I had in mind.

5. Chinese dress: I’m not sure exactly what I would say I “am” in this costume, but basically I saw a movie called Brick and there was a costume party where everyone’s costumes were pretty understated and cool. The main female character wore this pretty Chinese style dress, so I had my grandmother sew one for me! This was my costume in 2006. I don’t have any pictures of me wearing it, but here’s a still from the film.

6. Carmen Sandiego: This is what I ended up being this year! I bought this trench for $30 at JC Penny, and found the perfect hat at some weird store in my neighborhood the day of a Halloween party I was attending! I already owned black jeggings, a black t-shirt, and black riding boots. The hat isn’t quite the same red as the coat, and the coat isn’t quite long enough, but it worked out! Here’s a little inspiration board for your own costume. The hat and trench are from Forever 21, the shirt is from the Gap, and I forgot to save the source of the boots.

comments go here

