Birchbox: December 2012

In the midst of my end-of-semester and animal-in-my-wall and Christmas-shopping stress, I forgot to post about my Birchbox! Luckily I hadn’t thrown away any packaging yet, but I was too lazy to take a proper picture. I hope this is the biggest disappointment of your day!

dec2012birchbox

This month’s box was a really big bummer for me. Lately my boxes have been pretty good, with at least one or two products I was in love with. This month, no such luck.

1. per-fékt Beauty Lash Perfection Gel (Full Size, $28.50 for .45 fl oz)
This is perhaps the biggest disappointment in my box, not because the product is bad, but because I’d already gotten it in an earlier box. I don’t really love the product. It’s just mascara, though it claims to do all this great stuff for my lashes. I don’t know, I didn’t notice. Anyway, true to Birchbox’s excellent customer service, I received 100 points ($10) as a “sorry”.

2. Juicy Couture by Juicy Couture (Full Size, $90 for 2.4 oz)
I don’t like this scent. To me it smells like soap. My friend got it in her box and her boyfriend said it smells like his mom. My age is listed in my style profile, so why send me a fragrance that smells like moms?

3. Number 4 Clarifying Shampoo (Full Size, $32 for 250 ml)
I haven’t used this yet, but I’m sure I will like it. All I really care about in shampoo is that it cleans my hair and smells good. This smells good, and I am confident in its cleaning abilities. However, I wasn’t really excited about it because it does not claim to do anything I really need. It doesn’t say it smooths or prevents breakage or anything like that. Just shampoo.

4. Frownies Eye Gels (Full Size, $29.95 for a set of three)
I haven’t tried this one yet either, but I’m not optimistic. A while ago Birchbox sent me a face mask that seems similar to this and I hated it. It felt so slippery and gross on my face. I assume these will be similar. Also I hate that it says it eliminates wrinkles. Again, it says my age on my profile. Wrinkles are not an issue, thank YOU!

5. Tea Forté Skin-Smart Teas (Full Size, $6 for 16 bags)
Again, haven’t tried them yet. But it’s tea, and I like tea. Interesting flavors, and it claims to improve your skin? Sure, why not! This is the “lifestyle extra” so I’m always happy when it’s something I will actually eat/drink/use.

Also included was a gift card for $50 off a Rent The Runway rental. I’ve never used Rent The Runway before. Thoughts?

Anyway, I’m sure this Birchbox was not a huge selling point for you, but if you’re ready to subscribe for yourself, please use my link so that I can get points! Points turn into money I can use towards full-size products!

comments go here

