Stitch Fix #2

I got my second Stitch Fix about two weeks ago! I know I said I was waiting until September, but then I could some graduation money and couldn’t resist. If you’re not sure what Stitch Fix is, you can read my first post about it here. Also be sure to check out my first box here! But to summarize: You fill out an extensive style profile, you pay $20, a Stitch Fix personal stylist picks out five pieces for you, it comes in the mail, you try them on, pay for what you want to keep and mail the rest back. It’s a pretty fun service that’s helped me get some pieces that I wouldn’t normally pick out myself.

My second box was pretty different from my first one. I tweaked my style profile a little bit so that it reflected my taste more accurately (no beige or white, more fitted tops) and I specifically requested bright colors, fun prints, and lightweight tops for summer. Each time you get a fix there’s a space to make specific requests like this:

stitchfixschedule2

My stylist did pretty good, but I was disappointed to not see ANY cotton. Two of my tops were 100% polyester and were long sleeve, which is not super summery. But overall I was pretty happy. Anyway, you’ll see! (PS: I am not wearing make-up in these photos please do not judge me)

1. Brooke Dot Print Tab Sleeve Blouse by Ellison – $38
brookeshirt38

Not off to a good start here. Yes, there is pattern. But it’s black and HEAVY polyester. Not remotely summer appropriate. It’s also very shapeless and not at all fitted. Umm, ok. Not really what I asked for. However, it looks nice tucked in, will work well when it gets cooler, fits my style well, and the price was right. So I’m keeping it, but for later in the year.

2. Diane Belted Colorblock Tank Dress by Kensie – $58
dianedress58This dress looks better in person than in this photo for sure. The color is great, it’s lightweight, great for summer. Decent price, good fit, can’t complain. Except I wish it had more pattern, the color block is less than thrilling.

3. Ruthie Cross-Front Side-Ruched Top by Dylan and Rose – $48
ruthietop48I feel like you can’t tell how skinny this shirt makes me look in the picture. As soon as I put this on my mother told me I had to keep it. Normally I would not spend $48 on what is basically a glorified t-shirt but I really look that good in it. And I figure anything that flattering is worth at least $48. It also looks good with a cami under it if I wanted to wear it to work. Oh and it’s bright red! Yay! Color!

4. Ashton Pleated Chiffon Skirt by Everly – $48
ashtonskirt48This isn’t something I would have picked out for myself, but it’s fun and summery and the color is pretty. It’s a little shorter than I normally like but it’s definitely not too short. There’s not much to say about it, it’s just a great little summer skirt and I don’t have many of those!

5. Giselle Striped Tab-Sleeve Blouse by Fun2Fun – $48
giselleshirt48Little stripes are hard to photograph! I should be wearing something under this shirt, I apologize for the sheer factor. Anyway this was the other long-sleeve polyester top that apparently Stitch Fix thinks is great for summer. I like it anyway though. The stripes are hot pink and turquoise and it’s a lighter poly than the polka dot shirt. I actually wore this one already and got a few compliments, so I guess it’s a winner!

Anyway if you can’t tell, I kept the whole box. When you keep all five pieces you get a 25% discount, and with my $20 pre-paid styling fee I only had to pay $165 for all of this. Which is $33 an item, which isn’t bad.

Overall though, I feel like while I liked everything in this box, I did not LOVE any of it. I’m not sure what else to do to get items that I really really really love. Maybe I will make a Pinterest board separate from my usual fashion one that is more specific to what I really want, but I’m skeptical that they spend much time on Pinterest when styling for us. Can they really have that much time? I will probably wait until fall to get another box just because it’s expensive and I don’t have a job.

If you’re ready to try Stitch Fix I would just love it if you’d use my referral link! I get a $25 credit that I can use to buy more clothes from my next box! Thanks in advance.

2 thoughts on “Stitch Fix #2

  1. Pingback: Stitch Fix Preview Predictions – February 2015 | A Challenging Life

comments go here

